England Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.1
 Rooms  3.0
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  3.0
 Service & Staff  2.4
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  3.0

"Very good"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mattia C. of Florence, Italy
Reviewed:   March 30, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were in four and the room was perfect.
Clean, warm and with a big bathroom in.
Thank for everything.

"Not satisfied"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Niina S. of Sipoo, Finland
Reviewed:   October 12, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very noisy, first night there was loud music from the neighborhood until 1:30 am, third night there apparently were two small dogs left alone in the premises without any supervision, and they kept barking until 2 am. I tried calling the number provided in the reservation information, someone answered my first call but nobody came to silence the dogs. My subsequent calls were never answered. Neither did I receive any reply to my email complaining about the noise.

I fully understand that it can never be totally silent when you are staying in the heart of a big city like London, but having noisy animals in the premises without supervision is a bit too much.

That being said, the room was clean and comfortable.

"Super bien"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Steph P. of Lyon, France
Reviewed:   September 22, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Un super séjour avec un super accueil. La chambre est propre, neuve. La salle de bain est impeccable, fonctionnelle. Situé à 10 min de King's cross... C'est vraiment un super endroit

"Logement"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Liana A. of paris, France
Reviewed:   September 3, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Un truc du genre : chambre et SDB propre avec wifi, quartier bien situé mais communication avec le client à revoir car le propriétaire n'est pas très disponible. ..
Guest house au 1 frederik street
A 10 min sur la route de king cross road

"Très bon rapport qualité prix"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   GINESTE O. of Castelnau, France
Reviewed:   August 22, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
L'établissement est difficile à trouver puisque c'est une maison et non un hôtel. Il est IDEALEMENT situé par rapport à la gare de Saint Pancra's. Station de bus (390) qui vous emmène en 5 minutes à la gare de métro de King cross qui dessert la PICCADILY line.
La chambre famille était très bien et l'endroit est calme. Très bon séjour !

"Acceptable on a low budget scale"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Vika B. of Dududki, Belarus
Reviewed:   August 11, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Well, it was alright in the end. However, on the day of our arrival I was already checking the web for alternatives, as NOBODY answered my calls for 5 long hours and I'd received TWO contact numbers.
Also, as I have read in some reviews before, we were given a completely different room than we had booked, luckily a better one (for my taste at least).
However, it did say 'deluxe' in the descripton... well, this entirely depends on your standards of course, but... no.
No stay I would recomend to my friends, however, if you want to save money and aren't too choosy... go for it.

"brilliant"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ellie C. of Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 7, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lovely guesthouse, the owners were very nice and helpful, warm and spacious room, kings cross train station within 10 mins walking distance, would recommend. (but dont visit the pub opposite! )

"Fairly good cheap accommodation"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Connie G. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   July 24, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on this place (after we had booked) so we were expecting much less than we we actually got.
We had absolutely no trouble finding the place, short walk (15min) or bus ride (2 min) from Kings Cross Station, no problems getting in (the lovely cleaning lady met us and gave us the keys), no problem paying via PayPal. The room was very basic, but it met our needs for sleeping a family of 5. The bathroom was outside the room but it was no problem and we didn't have to share as there was no-one else down stairs.
The place was clean and neat. Nice clean sheets, clean bathroom and toilet.
The only negative aspect (and this was only on one night) was the noise from the upper apartment was a bit loud, but it didn't last long. Also one night the girls upstairs came home a little loud (but hey, it was London on Saturday night, so expected).
All up I agree with someone else's review that you get what you pay for. We could have paid three times the amount and been closer to London City and had a kitchen etc. but we were able to use that money for more fun things and just come home to shower and sleep. Accessibility to all the good things in London was easy with bus & train travel. We purchased the Oyster Cards and this was the best value for money transport in London.
All in all a fairly good budget accommodation choice.
If you're on a budget, and you just need a place to sleep, then I'd say this is perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much.

"Stay"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Andrea H. of Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 24, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice bright room, worth the money

"Different address to that advertised, un-cooperative when a receipt was requested"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   David C. of Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 13, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My girlfriend and I as well as two other friends booked a four bedroom family room at the Kings Cross Guest House for a long weekend in April after another booking fell through at the last minute.

We made the booking on the Thursday before our trip to London and travelled down the next day.

A couple of hours after making the booking for the guest house (the advertised address being 36 E Outram Place, Islington, London, N1 0UX, United Kingdom) I was sent a text message informing me that the address we would be staying at was actually 1 Frederick Street, off Kings Cross Road near Kings Cross station.

This was a bit odd but we just needed somewhere to stay at this point. So we went along with it.

On arrival, we were greeted by the resident caretaker who showed us to our room. the house itself is beautiful, recently refurbished, clean and in a decent location.

We were quickly shown the technique to opening the tricky front door and shown to the room where we were asked to pay cash (they could not take payment by card).

I asked for a receipt (which I needed to claim back expenses) and this is where the fun began, but I'll go into that in a bit). We were then told about the wifi (which didn't work at all over the weekend) and left to our own devices.

On at least three more occasions over the weekend I asked for a receipt for the money paid. A receipt was not forthcoming. After we left on the monday, I sent email after email to try and get a receipt and was either fobbed off or downright ignored. Even when I approached the website that I made the booking through to try and get them to arrange the receipt, the staff and/or management at the guesthouse were uncooperative or just downright ignorant.

The fact that this 'business' couldn't take card payments, gave me a different address to the one advertised and refused to give a receipt for cash paid did not fill me with confidence over the legitimacy of the business and I would not use them again which is a shame because the house is beautiful, the rooms are modern and clean, if a little basic and the location is very convenient. A pity that the staff and management are incompetent (at best) or downright dodgy (at worst). I'm not sure which though.


1 - 10 of 57 reviews  Next 10 results




EnglandInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us