England Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.0
 Cleanliness  2.9
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.2
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.8
 Total  3.1

"They were subreting illegally!!"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Sylvia S. of Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed:   May 23, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The last day, the owner of the house came to kick us out, because that house was illegally being subrented...

"Communication and the hotel itself: pretty bad..."

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Anne B. of Enschede, Netherlands
Reviewed:   May 9, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We received a text that said we had to move to one of his other hotels due to a massive leakage at 7.00 in the morning. Too bad, because we booked this hotel to be close to Camden and Kentish Town.

The owner would meet us there at 2.30 p.m., so we waited for him with another couple. Despite his proposal to meet up at that time, he didn't show up. Fortunately the cleaning lady showed up and showed us to our rooms and helped us the best way possible. She felt really bad about letting us into rooms that were still filled with the mess of the guests that stayed there before us. She had no idea we were coming. The cleaning lady called the owner to discuss which room we should get the keys to. He clearly wasn't on his way to meet us...

The upside is that we got a family room with a private bathroom instead of the double room we actually booked, but unfortunately this hotel wasn't in the neighborhood we wanted to be. Bathroom was pretty filthy, the room was dusty, just one roll of toilet paper for five days and all day noisy construction work at the neighbor's house.

If you only need a place to stay and don't really care about what the place looks like, it's fine. It costs the same as a bed in a hostel, you just don't have to share the room with twenty stinky backpackers. But if you're in London for a nice vacation, please book something that actually deserves the title 'hotel'.

By the way... The cleaning lady told us the owner would stop by later that week to give us the receipt, but we never got it. So basically it's a cash only (cleaning lady got instructions to collect the money) hotel and you don't receive a receipt. Is it even legal...?

"Illegal"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Francesco V. of Milan, Italy
Reviewed:   May 4, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Upon arriving the tenant was not present, we opened a guest who gave us the key and told us to take possession of a room. Walked into the room the sheets and pillows were dirty liquids and other things I would not write.

There was no heating and at some point enters the property owner telling us he had to go every half hour in the room to see the item for sale. He also said that Jonathan sublet rooms illegaly and on Sunday the Council would finally kicked off.

"Fucking shit !"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Ham E. of Lyon, France
Reviewed:   April 30, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've booked a room in this hotel and I had to pay 40€ on Internet . Ok that's normal
But when I went to this hotel . First it says that it's on 45 alma street London . When you go to this hotel there is a house and no hotel ! I had to call some guys to ask if the hotel really exist! They told me "go to coffee and meet me there at 1pm"
First he didn't told me which coffee, there are a million coffee in London .
Second, I went to alma street at 1pm there was nobody .
3th , they don't want to give me my 40€ back !
So this is a fake for me ! Don't book this shit . They never called me back to send my money !

Un hôtel a éviter a tout prix ! C'est des arnaqueurs, qui se foutent de la gueule du monde. Cet hôtel n'existe même pas .

"stay away from stay in camden"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Frank H. of Baden-württemberg/Stuttga, Germany
Reviewed:   April 29, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if you want to wait 1,5 hours at the street bevor this dirty and rooms with broken furniture and unfriendly Managers, than you are welcome to stay in camden.

"Reklamation"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Giuseppe R. of Matten b. Intelaken, Switzerland
Reviewed:   April 24, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wegbeschreibung war schlecht wir wurden völlig an einem anderen Ort geleitet.
Endlich angekommen trafen wir den wirklichen Hausbesitzer.
Er war gerade beschäftigt die Wohnung einer Mietinterresentin , die wir als Ferienaufenthalt gebucht haben, gezeigt.
Er hat uns darauf hingewiesen, das wir hier nicht übernachten dürfen.
Herr Jonathan Simpson sei ein Betrüger und vermietet seine Wohnung illegal an Touristen weiter.
Ich habe Herr Simpson ein SMS geschrieben, das wir diese Wohnung aus illegaler Geschäfte nicht beziehen dürfen.
Er hat kurz geantwortet und die Buchung ohne zu zögern gelöscht.
Wir haben fast einen ganzen Tag von unserm kurzen Aufenthalt (3 Tage ) wegen suchen einer neuen Schlafmöglichkeit verloren.

"Horrible service, decent rooms"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Daniel B. of Connecticut, United States
Reviewed:   April 20, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The rooms are decent for the price you pay (£35 per night for a double room), but the allocation appears arbitrary. If you don't get the room with the kitchen, you have no access to water except to boil it in a kettle that doesn't seem to have been washed.

However, what really needs improvement is the service. The owner (Jonathan) never replied my emails; attempts to call him either result in him mumbling that he isn't free and immediately puts down the phone, or empty promises (eg. he'll promise to confirm your reservation dates and price but never gets back to you). Further, having confirmed in advance my arrival time, he messages me 10 minutes before my arrival to tell me that he had to leave for 'an emergency meeting' and arbitrarily sets a time for me to turn up.

Overall, stay here if you are flexible and don't mind being treated badly by the manager.

"Je déconseille vivement"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Garigo J. of Melun, France
Reviewed:   February 25, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Je déconseille a tout le monde chambre trés salle remplie de poussière pas de lumière dans la salle de bain donc faut acheter des bougies pour se laver les personne responsable de stay in camden répondes quand on les appel mais ne se déplace mm pas pour voir les dégats les toilettes cassée personne pr nous acceuilir dans la maison d'hote ni pour repartir nous avons du laisser l'argent sur la table de chevet enfin en résumé un gros bordel c'est dégueulasse

"Disappointing"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Rick P. of Winterswijk/gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 28, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Before me and my girlfriend booked our stay at Stayinn Camden guesthouse we carefully read reviews of all hotels and guesthouses we where interested in. So finally Stayinn Camden was the best option after a good check. Unfortunatly realitty was different. We never meet the guesthouse owner, which felt weird. When we came in our room we found out there was no tv (which was said on our booking site there should be one), it wasn't really clean, the garden looked like a garden from students (dishes and sigarettes on the ground), the size of the bed was not that big for two persons but okay, the furniture was old with old painting here and there. There where twelve spotlights, only nine of them where working, we also got the doorhandle in our hands immediatly and couldn't lock the door. After telling this (by texting) to the owner he told us he would fix the lights and doorhandle on the second day. At the end of the second day we got a text that nothing was wrong with the doorhandle and the lights where fixed. But nothing of that was true. As there was said towels included at our booking site, we found 2 towels when we arrived. After asking when they would be refreshed the answer was not what we expected, no change normally but we could get some extra towels. So no new towels for stay for 4 nights(!) and only 1 towel each! Like the repairing we never got those extra towels! We didn't make a huge problem of it because we didn't want to ruïn our vacation. But is was very disappointing!

"Horrendus Place"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Claire H. of Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 31, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I stayed in this disgusting place in September this year (2014) and we would not wish it on anyone!

There is no doubt the guesthouse looks ok online but please do not be fooled!!

This was supposed to be a surprise weekend for my Husband as his wedding present (staying to watch a football game and do some shopping). Absolute disgrace. Embarrassing!!

Upon arrival (which I had already informed the person who was aware of our stay it would be a late check in) we could not get in touch with the Manager/Owner/person whom we have never set eyes on still to this day. Eventually he answered our call only to inform us that the key to enter the house was under a mat (yes that's right- no check in desk), he asked that we keep noise levels down due to a 'complaining neighbor'. Please be mindful that at this point my husband and I had not even had the opportunity to speak never mind cause noise!!

Eventually entering the house we were disgusted to see the state of the place! It can only be described as a smelly, unclean, cold and noisy dump!

* No hand washing facilities in the room
* Dirty sheets- pubic hair and various stains on them to be exact
* Brown staining all over the doors and skirting boards
* Foul smelling
* Kettle with no plug attached and scum inside it
* Tea and coffee jars- with no tea and coffee in them
* Broken wardrobe and chest of drawers
* Stair case- most likely not hoovered in the last year
* Downstairs toilet- lock not working and vile toilet bowl
* Communal bathroom- no words to describe the absolute filth you will see!!!!
* You will trip/slip over the amount of mail lying in the main hall upon entry!

If that was not enough this 'man!??!!' whom I spoke to over the phone asked that my Husband and I leave the payment of our stay on top of the chest of drawers and it would be collected 'at some point' during our stay. Meaning that anyone would be through the room and potentially through our belongings.

After trying very hard to locate different accommodation in the area we needed we soon found that everywhere else was booked up an much to our disappointment we were forced to stay!

We found ourselves staying out as long as we could during the day/evening to avoid catching anything from the room!

The second night of our stay we heard a knock on our ground floor window (approx 1am) and someone banging extremely loudly on the front door- To be woken out of our sleep in such a stage place was frightening to say the least. We then heard a girl on the phone outside the window being talked through the same process as us the night before- key under the mat scenario. I am not surprised the neighbors make complaints with the goings on at this place!!

The third morning we did see what looked like a cleaner- however there was absolutely no evidence of her cleaning anything at all. The cleaning products sat in the hall whilst she had a continual phone conversation for the best part of an hour!

At some point during our stay somebody did collect their payment and the thought of a strange person being in the room with our belongings was not nice.

We would never recommend this place to anyone! EVER!! Absolutely disgraceful!! How they have the cheek to even charge for this place is beyond us!!


1 - 10 of 20 reviews  Next 10 results




EnglandInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us